London and South East


The regional branch covers London and most of the Home Counties:
Bedfordshire (now Luton, Bedford, and Central Bedfordshire unitary authorities), south Essex (including Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock unitary authorities), Hertfordshire, Kent (including Medway unitary authority), Surrey, East and West Sussex (other than south-west Sussex, which is overseen by Wessex branch) City of Brighton & Hove unitary authority, and Greater London.
Because of its size, the regional branch also has several local, largely county-based, divisions.

Local Divisions

Just click on the green links, here and below, for further information:-
  • Eastern - south Essex and north-east & east London
  • Kent - including south-east London
  • London Metro - TfL zonal area plus Mayor's 'rail boundary'.
  • Herts and Beds - Hertfordshire and Bedfordshire
  • Surrey - including south-west London
  • Sussex and Coastway - East Sussex, Brighton & Hove, West Sussex, and South Downs National Park

Branch news

Click above to view or download our quarterly branch newsletter railse since July 2010 - most recent issue December 2017, next issue to be published for March 2018; and details of our local Branch Twitter feed.

Current campaigns

Our primary campaigns are for:
  • Uckfield - Lewes re-instate missing link to 'Bridge the gap' for through services via Lewes to Brighton and Sussex coast towns
  • Marshlink line upgrade, including line-speed increases, extended Rye passing loop, and connection with HS1 at Ashford International, for through high-speed services from St. Pancras International via Ashford International to Rye, Hastings, Bexhill-on-Sea and Eastbourne.
  • A new Thameslink 2 metro route between East Croydon, Docklands and North London via tunnel between East Croydon and Addiscombe, the Hayes branch, and tunnel between Lewisham, Canary Wharf and Stratford, connecting to the West Anglia and North London lines.
Click current campaigns for other campaigns in our branch area.

Click Rail investment planning for information on Network Rail, the ORR and the DfT planning and funding a bigger better railway.

Current consultations

Future of Great Western franchise, closing Wednesday 21 February.
Mayor of London's draft new London Plan, closing Friday 2 March.
National Infrastructure Commission's Call for Evidence for Freight Study, closing Monday 5 March.
East Coast Main Line draft Route Study (see 'LNE & EM planning'), closing Friday 16 March.
Proposals for creation of a Major Road Network, closing Monday 19 March.
Comments, responding to the consultation questions asked, to Branch Chairman keith.dyall at railfuture.org.uk and Branch Vice-Chairman roger.blake at railfuture.org.uk
View or download our responses to recent and previous consultations in Consultation responses.


Railfuture and other regional and national events, including conferences and key campaign dates.

The 2018 AGM will be held on Saturday 28 April 2018. Our venue will be Wesley's Chapel, 49 City Road, London, EC1Y 1AU. It's a short walk south from Old Street station, and is also well-served by bus routes. The open morning meeting, from 10.30 for an 11.00 start, will have a Light Rail theme and include speakers on a Lower Thames Crossing, and Cambridge Connect.
Nominations for Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Hon. Secretary, Hon. Treasurer and up to six other members of the branch committee have now closed. Nomination forms, returnable by Saturday 20th January 2018 as instructed on the form, viewable here and downloadable here (420kb). As there will be no need for a ballot this year the successful nominations will be announced in the March branch newsletter.

Branch Standing Orders can be viewed here, or downloaded here (626Kb).

The 2017 AGM was held on Saturday 29 April. View or download (908Kb) the Agenda, and all reports for 2016.
It was preceded by an open meeting for members and guests, with guest speakers from Heathrow Southern Railway (view the presentation here) and Windsor Link Railway (view the presentation here), and a presentation from Network Rail on Western Rail Access to Heathrow.
Venue: University of Westminster's Cavendish campus, 115 New Cavendish Street, Fitzrovia, London W1W 6UW.

The 2016 Branch AGM was held in central London on 23 April 2016, again at the University of London's International Hall, Lansdowne Terrace, Bloomsbury, London, WC1N 1AS, a short walk from Russell Square station.
In anticipation of elections on 5 May for a new Mayor of London, and for seats on the Greater London Assembly, we published a Rail Manifesto for London.

The 2015 AGM was held on 25 April at the University of London's International Hall, Lansdowne Terrace, Bloomsbury, London, WC1N 1AS.
Our morning session featured the Airports Commission, chaired by Sir Howard Davies and due to report on its recommendations later in summer 2015, and the three short-listed options for expanding capacity at either Heathrow (two options) or Gatwick. Our guest speakers were:
Simon Earles, Head of Surface Access Strategy for Heathrow Airport,
Steven Costello, Director for Heathrow Hub Ltd, and
Hugh Sumner, Senior Transport Advisor for Gatwick Airport.

The 2014 AGM was held on 26 April 2014. It was preceded by an open morning meeting on the themes of the value of heritage lines to their localities and developing links between heritage lines and the classic network. Speakers were Railfuture member Chris Austin OBE Secretary to the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Heritage Rail which in July 2013 published a report 'the Value of Heritage Railways', and Graham Baldwin General Manager of Kent & East Sussex Railway celebrating their 40th anniversary. The Annual General Meeting followed after lunch.

The 2013 AGM was held on 20 April 2013. The morning branch members' meeting heard speakers David Blackall, Deputy Director, Thameslink Programme, DfT; Andrew Hutton, Lead Development Manager, London Bridge station, Network Rail; Councillor Mark Gettleson, Southwark Council. The Annual General Meeting followed after lunch.

Other organisations' listings of local events, generally open to non-members and free, include The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport (CILT) and The Railway Correspondence and Travel Society (RCTS).

L and SE rail user groups

includes the following 21 groups affiliated to Railfuture, with benefits including access to Railfuture's Fighting Fund.

Community Rail Partnerships and Station Adoption Groups

in and around the London and South East region including:
under the auspices of the Association of Community Rail Partnerships ACoRP - 'new life for local lines' - with support from Network Rail (previous website) and now (current website).

Heritage Railways

in and around the London and South East region, including those with mainline interchange:
See also Preserved lines as public transport

Passenger representative groups

London Underground Railway Society

The LURS promotes interest in all technical and historical aspects of the London Underground, London Overground, DLR and Tramlink.

Branch Contacts

Neighbouring branches

Railfuture - The independent campaign for a better passenger and freight rail network

We need you - Join us!

Please go to the Join page to become a member of Railfuture.

Railfuture is the campaigning name for Railfuture Ltd, a company limited by guarantee. Registered in England and Wales No. 5011634. Registered office: 24 Chedworth Place, Tattingstone, Suffolk IP9 2ND.

Rail User Express Rail Action