Rail User Groups

Rail User Groups campaign for improvements to services and stations in their particular area. Railfuture provides a forum in which they can exchange ideas and experiences, co-ordinate rail development priorities, and contribute to the case for better rail services nationally.

Their often-unsung successes were recognised and rewarded on the national stage in Railfuture's inaugural 2012 RUG Awards, and again in 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016.
Entries are now open for the 2017 Awards, to be announced at our national autumn conference in Leicester on 4 November. Book before 31 August for the members' early-bird discount.
See the RUG Awards page which brings all our coverage together.

Full lists of all known rail user groups throughout Britain can be viewed or downloaded:
  • View or download RUGs National A-Z list (882kb PDF document dated Sept 2016)
  • View or download RUGs Regional/Branch List] (647kb PDF document dated Feb 2016)
The regional list is generated from the national list.

A list of rail reopening campaign groups (RoCs) throughout Britain can also be viewed or downloaded:
  • View or download RoCs National A-Z list (769 kb PDF document dated Jan 2017)
You can also View or download an A-Z list of national and regional passenger bodies (334kb PDF document dated July 2013)

Many groups are affiliated to Railfuture. One of the benefits of affiliate membership is access to our Fighting Fund. The following rail user and reopening campaign groups are Railfuture affiliates:

East Anglia East Suffolk Travellers' Association (ESTA)
Felixstowe Travel Watch
Manningtree Rail Users' Association
Meldreth, Shepreth & Foxton Rail User Group
Mid Anglia Rail Passengers' Association (MARPA)
Walton on the Naze, Frinton on Sea, Kirby Cross & Thorpe le Soken Rail Users’ Association (ONTRACK)
Wisbech Rail Reopening Campaign
Lincolnshire Friends of the Barton Line
South East Lincolnshire Travellers’ Association
London and South East Abbey Flyer User's Group (ABFLY)
Association of Public Transport Users (APTU) (Thameslink North)
Bedford Commuters' Association (BCA)
Bedford to Bletchley Rail Users’ Association (BBRUA)
Cambridge Heath and London Fields Rail Users’ Group (CHLFRUG)
Chingford Line Users’ Association (CLUA)
Dartford Rail Travellers Association
East Surrey Transport Committee - email
Edenbridge & District Rail Travellers’ Association
English Regional Transport Association
Hadley Wood Rail User Group
Hatfield Association of Rail Travellers
Marsh Link Action Group (MLAG) (Hastings-Ashford International)
Marylebone Travellers' Association
Ore Transport Group - email
Sevenoaks Rail Travellers Association
St Leonards & Hastings Rail Improvement Programme (SHRIMP)
Tonbridge Line Commuters
Trains4Deal with Trains4KentCoast
Watford Rail Users’ Group - email
West Sussex Rail Users Association
North East Saltburn Line User Group
South East Northumberland Rail Users Group (SENRUG)
Tyne Valley Rail Users' Group
Esk Valley Railway Development Company
North West Blackpool and Fylde Rail Users’ Association
Copeland Rail User Group (Cumbrian Coast)
Friends of Denton Station
Furness Line Action Group
Goyt Valley Rail Users’ Association (Stockport)
Lakes Line Rail User Group
Lancaster and Skipton Rail Users’ Group
Friends of Littleborough Stations (Lancashire)
North Cheshire Rail Users’ Group (NCRUG)
Ormskirk, Preston & Southport Travellers’ Association
Support the Oldham Rochdale Manchester line
Friends of Reddish South Station
Ribble Valley Rail
Friends of the Settle - Carlisle Line
Shrewsbury-Chester Rail Users’ Association
Wirral Transport Users’ Association
Wrexham-Birkenhead Rail Users’ Association
Scotland Beattock Station Action Group(reopening campaign)
Friends of the Far North Line
LevenMouth Rail Campaign
Newburgh Train Station Group (Fife) (reopening campaign)
Rail Action Group East of Scotland (RAGES)
St. Andrews Rail Link (StARLink) (reopening campaign)
Severnside Friends of Bridgewater Station
Friends of Suburban Bristol Railways (FOSBR)
Cotswold Line Promotion Group (CLPG)
Minehead Rail Link Group
Portishead Railway Group (reopening campaign)
Saltford Station Campaign (reopening)
Trans Wilts Community Rail Partnership
Thames Valley Bedwyn Trains Passenger Group
Marlow-Maidenhead Passengers’ Association
Oxon & Bucks Rail Action Committee (see also OBRAG) (Oxford - Milton Keynes reopening campaign)
Witney-Oxford Transport Group (reopening campaign)
Wales Heart of Wales Line Travellers’ Association
Magor Action Group on Rail (new station campaign)
Pembrokeshire Rail Travellers' Association
Wessex Basingstoke & District Railway Society
Isle of Wight Bus and Rail Users’ Group
Friends of the Lymington-Brockenhurst Line
West Midlands Cannock Chase Rail Promotion Group
Cotswold Line Promotion Group
Rail for Herefordshire
Lichfield Rail Promotion Group
Rugby Rail Users’ Group
Shakespeare Line Promotion Group
Shrewsbury-Chester Rail Users’ Association
Yorkshire Aire Valley Rail Users’ Group
Bradford Rail Users’ Group
Halifax and District Rail Action Group (Elland station)
Harrogate Line Supporters' Group
Harrogate Line Rail Users’ Group
Hope Valley Rail Users Group
Huddersfield, Penistone and Sheffield Rail Users’ Association (HPSRUA)
Hull and East Riding Rail Users’ Association
Lancaster and Skipton Rail Users’ Group
Minsters Rail Campaign (Beverley - Market Weighton - York reopening campaign)
Selby and District Rail Users’ Group
Friends of the Settle - Carlisle Line
Upper Calder Valley Renaissance Sustainable Transport Group
Yorkshire Coast Community Rail Partnership