Loading...
 

Passenger Group

Background Information


Railfuture's Passenger Group deals with issues on the passenger rail network. It aims to build strong links with Train Operating Companies (TOCs), Department for Transport (DfT), Rail Delivery Group (formerly ATOC), Office of Rail and Road (ORR), Transport Focus (TF), Rolling Stock Leasing Companies (RoSCo), local authorities and other rail industry partners.

The aim is to identify and publicise good practice in the rail industry and identify the top issues that affect the full range of rail passengers. Encouraging more support for rail, and the retention, improvement and growth of services for users and to encourage non-users to switch to rail.

Passengers' issues:
  • Punctuality/reliability
  • Fares and ticketing
  • Disruption management
  • Service Quality
There is a range of responsibilities within the group:

Allison Cosgrove - Head - allison.cosgrove at railfuturescotland.org.uk
Nick Lewis - Secretary - nick.lewis at railfuture.org.uk
Don Peacock - Treasurer - don.peacock at railfuture.org.uk

Light Rail - Ian Brown CBE FCILT - ian.brown at railfuture.org.uk
Heritage Liaison - Chris Austin OBE FCILT - christopher.austin at railfuture.org.uk
Bus Users UK Liaison - H. Trevor Jones - htjones.raildev at gmail.com
Rolling Stock Design Requirements Panel - vacant
Open Access operators - vacant
Restricted Access issues -
Cycling -

Railfuture representative at European Passengers' Federation - Dennis Fancett - chair at senrug.co.uk

Next meeting: 23 March 2019, in Peterborough. Most recent meeting: 20 October 2018.

You can also follow the Passenger Group on Twitter @RailfuturePsngr

TOC Liaisons

Franchise (TOC)                     Name                    Nation/Branch      Email

Chiltern Railways                   John Elvin              Thames Valley      john.elvin at railfuture.org.uk
Cross Country                       Steve Wright            West Midlands      steve.wright at railfuture.org.uk
Crossrail (TfL Rail)                vacancy                 London & SE        londonandsoutheast at railfuture.org.uk
East Coast (LNER)                   Allison Cosgrove        Scotland           allison.cosgrove at railfuturescotland.org.uk
East Midlands (EMT)                 Roger Bacon             East Midlands      roger.bacon at railfuture.org.uk
Essex Thameside (c2c)               Peter Woodrow           London & SE        pwoodrow at john-lewis.com
Greater Anglia                      Chris Burton            East Anglia        chris.burton at railfuture.org.uk
Greater Western (GWR)               Nigel Bray              Severnside         nigel.bray2 at railfuture.org.uk
Heathrow Express                    Nigel Bray              Severnside         nigel.bray2 at railfuture.org.uk
Integrated Kent (Southeastern)      Chris Fribbins          London & SE        chris.fribbins at railfuture.org.uk
London Overground (ARL)             Roger Blake             London & SE        roger.blake at railfuture.org.uk
London Underground                  vacancy                 London & SE        londonandsoutheast at railfuture.org.uk
Merseyrail                          T.Bishop/M.Breslin      North West         northwest at railfuture.org.uk
Northern                            Chris Hyomes            Yorkshire          chris.hyomes at railfuture.org.uk
Scotland (ScotRail)                 Roddy McDougall         Scotland           ftel at btinternet.com
South West (South Western Railway)  David Brace             Wessex             david.brace at railfuture.org.uk
Thameslink/Southern/Great Northern  Keith Dyall             London & SE        londonandsoutheast at railfuture.org.uk
(Govia Thameslink Railway)
TransPennine Express                Andrew Dyson            Yorkshire          andrew.dyson at railfuture.org.uk
Wales & Borders (Transport for Wales) Rowland Pittard       Wales              rowland.pittard at railfuturewales.org.uk
West Coast (Virgin)                 T.Bishop/M. Breslin     North West         northwest at railfuture.org.uk
West Midlands (WMT)                 William Whiting         West Midlands      william.whiting at railfuture.org.uk

Eurostar                            Jerry Alderson          East Anglia        jerry.alderson at railfuture.org.uk


Disruption Study

The Passenger Group carried out a review of disruption handling, seeking input from passengers as well as the rail industry and our own membership. How disruption is handled, both planned and unplanned, remains one of the top concerns for passengers in complaints, stakeholder engagement and national surveys. There is often a focus on the negative side of disruption but equally there are examples of good practice that should be shared across the rail industry, and pioneering work among the train operating companies and Network Rail.

Across the UK there are Railfuture TOC liaisons and together with branches, there was a ‘call for evidence’ to rail passengers and the rail industry with an online survey on the Railfuture web site. A final report has been produced based on the responses, and issues raised during the Christmas 2014 planned works, looking at the reasons for disruption and how it is handled. This raises a number of questions for the rail industry and has been widely distributed around the industry.

View or download a PDF version of the final Disruption Report.


Rail User Express Rail Action