Loading...
 

Passenger Group

Background Information


Railfuture's Passenger Group deals with issues on the passenger rail network. It aims to build strong links with Train Operating Companies (TOCs), Department for Transport (DfT), Rail Delivery Group (formerly ATOC), Office of Rail and Road (ORR), Transport Focus (TF), Rolling Stock Leasing Companies (RoSCo), local authorities and other rail industry partners.

The aim is to identify and publicise good practice in the rail industry and identify the top issues that affect the full range of rail passengers. Encouraging more support for rail, and the retention, improvement and growth of services for users and to encourage non-users to switch to rail.

Passengers' issues:
  • Punctuality/reliability
  • Fares and ticketing
  • Disruption management
  • Service Quality
There is a range of responsibilities within the group:

Allison Cosgrove - Head - allison.cosgrove at railfuturescotland.org.uk
Howard Thomas - Deputy Head - howard.thomas at railfuture.org.uk
Nick Lewis - Secretary - nick.lewis at railfuture.org.uk
H. Trevor Jones - Assistant Secretary - htrevor.jones at railfuture.org.uk
Don Peacock - Treasurer - don.peacock at railfuture.org.uk

Rolling Stock Requirements Panel - Norman Bradbury
Light Rail - Norman Bradbury
Open Access operators
Heritage Liaison - Chris Austin OBE
Restricted Access issues
Cycling - Chris Hyomes
Bus Users UK Liaison - H. Trevor Jones

Railfuture representative at European Passengers' Federation - Chris Irwin

TOC Liaisons


Franchise (TOC)                                                        Name                         Nation/Branch                               Email

Wales (Arriva Trains Wales)         Rowland Pittard         Wales              rowland.pittard at railfuturewales.org.uk
Scotland (ScotRail)                 Roddy McDougall         Scotland           ftel at btinternet.com
Eurostar                            Jerry Alderson          London & SE        jerry.alderson at railfuture.org.uk
Chiltern Railways                   John Elvin              Thames Valley      john.elvin at railfuture.org.uk
CrossCountry                        Steve Wright            West Midlands      steve.wright at railfuture.org.uk
East Coast (Virgin)                 Allison Cosgrove        Scotland           allison.cosgrove at railfuturescotland.org.uk
East Midlands                       Roger Bacon             East Midlands      roger.bacon at railfuture.org.uk
Essex Thameside (c2c)               vacancy                 London & SE        londonandsoutheast at railfuture.org.uk
Western (Great Western Railway)     Nigel Bray              Severnside         nigel.bray2 at railfuture.org.uk
TransPennine Express                Nina Smith              Yorkshire          nina.smith at railfuture.org.uk
Greater Anglia                      Chris Burton            East Anglia        chris.burton at railfuture.org.uk
Heathrow Express/Connect            vacancy                 London & SE        londonandsoutheast at railfuture.org.uk
West Midlands Trains                William Whiting         West Midlands      william.whiting at railfuture.org.uk
London Overground (ARL)             Roger Blake             London & SE        roger.blake at railfuture.org.uk
Merseyrail                          Trevor Bishop/          North West         northwest at railfuture.org.uk
                                    Michael Breslin
Northern                            Chris Hyomes            Yorkshire          chris.hyomes at railfuture.org.uk
Integrated Kent (Southeastern)      Chris Fribbins          London & SE        chris.fribbins at railfuture.org.uk
South West (South Western Railway)  David Brace             Wessex             david.brace at railfuture.org.uk
Thameslink/Southern/Great Northern  Keith Dyall             London & SE        keith.dyall at railfuture.org.uk
(Govia Thameslink Railway)
West Coast (Virgin)                 Trevor Bishop/          North West         northwest at railfuture.org.uk
                                    Michael Breslin


Disruption Study

The Passenger Group carried out a review of disruption handling, seeking input from passengers as well as the rail industry and our own membership. How disruption is handled, both planned and unplanned, remains one of the top concerns for passengers in complaints, stakeholder engagement and national surveys. There is often a focus on the negative side of disruption but equally there are examples of good practice that should be shared across the rail industry, and pioneering work among the train operating companies and Network Rail.

Across the UK there are Railfuture TOC liaisons and together with branches, there was a ‘call for evidence’ to rail passengers and the rail industry with an online survey on the Railfuture web site. A final report has been produced based on the responses, and issues raised during the Christmas 2014 planned works, looking at the reasons for disruption and how it is handled. This raises a number of questions for the rail industry and has been widely distributed around the industry.

View or download a PDF version of the final Disruption Report.


Rail User Express Rail Action